#131 Maleficent is #brilliant

Maleficent-(2014)-57

Maleficent (2014) – 

“A vengeful fairy is driven to curse an infant princess, only to discover that the child may be the one person who can restore peace to their troubled land.”

maleficent_2014_movie-1680x10501

This film ‘Maleficent‘ has been on my watch list since I saw the trailer early this year, it was in the cinema in May as seen by the photo above (I believe this is the poster used for advertising), I missed the boat with the cinema so have been waiting for it to come on sky & finally a couple of days ago (it was a Sunday evening = film night) & the boyfriend & I watched it.

It was great and it was well worth the wait, the film really shone the light on the story of Maleficent & who she is, why she becomes so sad & evil. Of course Angelina Jolie who plays Maleficent is brilliant in it, so is Elle Fanning who plays Sleeping Beauty & then the three fairies are done very well with well-known faces including Juno Temple, Imelda Staunton & Lesley Manville. It is funny normally I am good with faces but after looking at IMDB for the synopsis I realized Sam Riley was in it too – he has quite a big part in it & is lovely in it.

I always like to be surprised when I watch films, the trailer gave a lot of the story away but then did keep a lot of things hidden too & not knowing all of the faces is an added bonus! The Narration in the film defiantly gives it something extra especially the last line of the film, if you have seen it you will know what I am talking about & if not watch & listen.

A great film I was super excited to watch & was not disappointed, a big recommend!!

cartoon-vs-movie

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1587310/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1

