#122 Reviewing some films I have recently watched

The Counselor (2013)

The_Counselor_Poster

“A lawyer finds himself in over his head when he gets involved in drug trafficking.”

I watched The Counselor on a recent Saturday night with my sister & I was really looking forward to it especially as my mum has watched earlier in the day & said it was great! It was a great film, with a great cast & a brilliant director that is Ridley Scott I just felt that once it all started to unravel & then clear up – it felt like a quick clear up & sweep up under the carpet. For me it was just another story showing the impact of one bad choice/being greedy & what happens when you mix your life with drugs. If that is what Ridley Scott was going for then he hit the nail straight on top of the head but I was just wanting a little bit more, saying that I did think it was good & would watch it again if my Dad or Boyfriend wanted to watch it. Plus Cameron Diaz was absolutely brilliant in it as well as Michael Fassbender who is just brilliant in everything he does + the cast was a group of good lookers!

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2193215/?ref_=nv_sr_1

Philomena (2013)

philomena frontsmall

“A world-weary political journalist picks up the story of a woman’s search for her son, who was taken away from her decades ago after she became pregnant and was forced to live in a convent.”

Philomena, another film recommended to me after my mum had watched it. I had heard of it & then when I realised it was on Sky Demand – I watched a couple of lazy Sundays ago. It was a lovely film, it warmed your heart, made you smile but also cry. Like everything Judy Dench is in she blew the film away with her great presence & acting skills & they really emphasised her face in this film, a lot of close-ups which showed just how blue her eyes were. A lovely film and it was a film that was based on true events which made people aware that this keeps happening as Philomena is a real soul. If your feeling like a gentle, lovely film is what you need – this one is for you but be aware that you may have a cry or two.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2431286/?ref_=nv_sr_4

American Hustle (2013)

american-hustle-movie-poster-1

“A con man, Irving Rosenfeld, along with his seductive partner Sydney Prosser, is forced to work for a wild FBI agent, Richie DiMaso, who pushes them into a world of Jersey powerbrokers and mafia.”

I was so excited when I realized this film finally came on Sky movies. It is a brilliant film – the trailer did not give this film justice. It is so much more then what the film shows & that is what I love about a trailer, giving you an idea of what you think the film will be but actually the film is just so much more. Such a good film & I really easy watch, even thought it kept you gripped it wasn’t heard to follow or understand. Perfect mix of good acting (with that line-up you think no less), great story line, great costumes!! JUST GREAT.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1800241/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1

Thor: The Dark World (2013)

Thor-The-Dark-World-2013

“When Thor’s love interest gets cursed with a powerful object, Thor must protect it before an army and it’s ruthless leader try to get their hands on it to take over the remains of Earth”

I finished watching this last night & I loved it. Another great Marvel film with a very good twist at the end. If you watch this you will know what I am talking about. Get involved & watch this because it seems Marvel films are doing a really good job!

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1981115/?ref_=nv_sr_2

Enough Said (2013)

“A divorced woman who decides to pursue the man she’s interested in learns he’s her new friend’s ex-husband.”

MV5BMjI2MjIwMDk2Ml5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTQ1MzQ5OQ@@._V1_SX214_AL_

I remember watching the trailer for Enough Said & after it finished, I really just wanted to watch it there & then. It has a great cast including one of my favorite actors of all time Mr James Gandolfini – who of course passed away suddenly on 19th June 2o13 three months before Enough Said was released. For me this

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2390361/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1

The Heat (2013)

“An uptight FBI Special Agent is paired with a foul-mouthed Boston cop to take down a ruthless drug lord.”

91jkb4-8ZRL._SL1500_

I honestly did not think this film would be as funny as it was! A great Saturday afternoon watch when you are feeling a little poorly from the last nights antics. Would recommend over & over again, this film is great & with a brilliant women duo that is Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy, both being some of my favorite actress. They are so elegant, brilliant & hilarious & together make a great film. Watch, watch, watch you will not be disappointed.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2404463/

Gravity (2013)

gravity-banner

“A medical engineer and an astronaut work together to survive after a catastrophe destroys their shuttle and leaves them adrift in orbit.”

After finishing work early & the weather being pretty horrid – I decided I finally had some time to watch this film. Yes I was late to the party but with so much hype around it & reading in my Empire magazine just how they filmed it, I was very excited & was not disappointed. It was brilliant, kept you on the edge of your seat – brilliant acting from Sandra Bullock & George Clooney – a great mix as well. I now understand what all the hype was for & I am so glad there was so much hype because this film was great!!!!

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1454468/

Leave a Reply

